Miss Landers, How Old Are You?

 So….I’m sittin’ in my 3rd period –we’re in the lab today and my students are always joking that “Jane Apple“*  and “Mark Orange” *should get married because they’ve known each other for EVER and are always bickering (like an old married couple).  We all laugh and giggle about this ‘cause, you know….. it’s funny.

And then I say, “Well my sister Yvette and her husband Mark met in 9th grade at Hannah Banana High School*and they’re still happily married to this day.”

Suddenly, from the back of the Language Lab Coconut*  asks, “How old is your sister?”  I am thinking out loud…”Hmm…I’m 45 so she is 41!” 

To which Coconut responds, “Really?  You’re 45?  Gee, you only look like you’re 40!” 

Yep.  That Oil of Olay Youth Crème is really WORKIN’ for me, huh?   Ha! Ha! Ha!

*Coconut (That’s my nickname for this student because of his perfectly round head)

*Names have been changed

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Hey Miss Landers!, Thoughts | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Miss Landers, How Old Are You?

  1. Wonderful classroom story! This is just the kind of story my mother would bring home from her elementary classes. Are we still as spontaneous as adults, or are we just more easily offended? Thank you for sharing this.

    • Ha! Ha! Thank you. I think most adults have forgetten how to embrace a “childlike” sense of silliness. It’s too bad too because I find life so much more fun when you are wide-eyed and bushy tailed.

  2. My mom was a pre-school to First grade teacher. It was wonderful spending time in her classroom. She remembers almost all of her students and she is child-like as well.

    Good to see you post! I have an award for you on my blog. I just reached a 100posts and wanted to celebrate. 🙂

    • Wow!!!!! 100 posts!!!! That is amazing! 🙂 Hang on…I’m doing my happy Snoopy dance….dancing, dancing, bouncing, bouncing. OK…you can’t see it but you can imagine it right?

  3. Vanessa

    At home sick, kids at school: finally some time to discover your blog 🙂 It is so YOU!

    • I see…so it took an ILLNESS to finally get you to sit and have a look around huh? Ha! Ha! Just kidding. I hope you’re feelin’ a little better. There were a lot of people sick today.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

