Part 3 of – Baby Blue

“Our truest life is when we are in our dreams…. awake. “ 

 Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

Todd is watching Nina who is watching the little boy giggle.  He is thinking about all the other girls before her and why he wasted so much time with them.  So many girls.  So many names.  But I can’t remember anyone with a smile like Nina’s.  I wonder if she will ever smile at me that way.

 Nina, do you want to split a hot fudge sundae with me?

Oof!  I’m so full.  But I can’t resist.  Sure Todd.  Thank you for offering.

Anytime.

They are smiling and Todd feels comfortable enough to put his hand on Nina’s hand.

I can feel my mother blushing inside.  She doesn’t know what to do. 

After the date Todd takes Nina home and she sweetly kisses him and thanks him for a fun night together.  And true to his word, Todd never behaved like less than a gentleman.  He was, in fact, quite proud of himself.

Up the stairs and to the left is Nina’s bedroom.  At the end of the long hallway is the bathroom.  Time to take off make-up, brush teeth, and get ready for a good night’s dream.

Nina lies awake for awhile and thinks about the night.  She didn’t expect to like him so much. Todd. Todd Odom.  Drifting to sleep…..

There are trees all around. Bright green grass.  And sunshine.  The feeling of pure love and joy permeates the air and all around is a clear blue sky.  Heaven.

My mother can hear me laughing.  My little boy laugh.  I am giggling and running around the trees and she is chasing me.  Come here you!  No!!!! I am laughing and running.  My mother catches up to me and sweeps me up into her arms and covers me with kisses on my cheeks and the top of my head.  I love to cuddle and hug her neck.  

It’s time to sing my baby.

Our song mommy?

Yes my baby.  Our song.

Are you ready?

Yes!

 Ok. One, two, three…You are my sunshine, my only sunshine, you make me happy when skies are gray.  You’ll never know dear, how much I love you.  Please don’t take my sunshine away….

We sing and mommy dances with me and we twirl around in the forest and bright green grass.  All night my mother and I run and laugh and play together.  It is our time together when we are united and she can see me and I can touch her and kiss her cheeks. 

Until it is time for a new day. But mommy won’t remember the dreams until I am born.

Nina wakes up and it is Saturday morning.  Time to call Wendy and tell her about last night’s date with baseball player Todd.  

Story to be continued…..

Categories: Baby Blue | Tags: , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Part 3 of – Baby Blue

  1. One of my favorite songs! I am loving Nina and her shining personality. Very cool her son is watching her and they play in her dreams. Great story, molte bella!

    Ciao Ragazza!

    • Come stai amica! Man oh man the pictures of snow on your blog were unbelievable!!!! And I must say very pretty too.

      I had to wait many years to figure out how to write this story but now that I have it down it’s been really fun to see the process. I wish I could tell you the story..ay! ay! ay! 🙂 Anticipation….

  2. Really enjoying this story. I have two boys, and when they are not driving me crazy, I love everything about them. When they are, I love most everything about them. 😉

  3. Oh I can imagine. I don’t have children myself but I do have an Advisory group of boys aged 12 at school and sometimes I have to be a big blue meanie too. But most of the time I am laughing so hard at the funny things they say and do. I call them my “little bears.”

  4. Come thither and see what I have for thee.

  5. Good job on your blog xxx and hey you’ve been awarded…
    You’ve received the Sunshine Award..!!!
    check it out here at
    http://aleafinthebreeze.wordpress.com/2010/02/21/a-ray-of-sunshine/

    • Gracias mafiashark!

      They like me! They really really like me! 🙂 I’ve always wanted to say some variation of that line. All this is just so much fun and exciting. It’s so much to take in to see how everybody is linked to each other around the world. I just love it.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

