Can You Hear It? (The Beauty in the Sound of a Word)

Practice. –I’ve always loved this word.  The cracking sound  “pr-ACK” – like the sound of a lion tamer’s whip.  

Una tarde en Madrid  después de mi clase de Quixote, yo andaba por la calle Castellana cuando un mendigo se acercó a mi y me preguntó si tenía algunas Pesetas porque tenía hambre….

One afternoon in Madrid after my class on Quixote, I was walking along Castellana Street when a beggar approached me and asked me if I had any pesetas because he was hungry. … (It was 1987- no Euros yet)

Amo parlare italiano perché mi ricorda del calore di Siena, mangiando il gelato e la gente che guardano nel Piazza del Campo (Il Campo). Non ci è altro posto su terra dove una può  tenere la sensazione di essere così viva….

I love  speaking Italian because it reminds me of the warmth of Siena; eating ice cream and people watching in the Piazza del Campo.  There is no other place on Earth where one can feel so alive….
 
 
The comparison between the singing sounds of Spanish and Italian and the rise and fall of English has always intrigued me.  The former languages feel so warm and passionate and the latter sounds strong and lyrical.
 
 
…………………………………………………………..Other words?  Other sounds? 
 
Last weekend ended with the sounds of rain and wind outside the hotel.  Inside the warmth of an overstuffed bed and fluffy pillows strewn about the floor. Freedom.  To dream. To sleep. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Categories: Thoughts | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Can You Hear It? (The Beauty in the Sound of a Word)

  1. I am coming to believe that breaks are as needed as writing itself. Yours was rich and rewarding, it seems. I look forward to visiting again soon and catching up on your stories.

    • Hello there Yousei Hime,

      How lovely to hear from you again. A time to get away and just “be” is the best medicine I think. I’m learning to work with words like painting. A stretch from story telling. I am endlessly fascinated by the sound and sway of a word; a sentence. It’s a new and interesting playfulness with words.

      Cheers!

  2. I miss Italiano! Molte Bella, mio amica. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

