Florida- A Poem

 

 

She stood, in silence, listening to voices in the ground, 

Of tiny crabs, those shells that walk,

Surrounded by the ocean’s sound,

The edge of Earth where Dolphins talk.

 

The clouds reclined on airy thrones,

That drift along and stay awhile,

Relax their shapes, remain unknown,

with puffy cheeks that gently smile.

 

Above the tide some seagulls glide,

To drink the comfort, warmest sun,

While children on their kneeboards slide,

And girl, with waves and sand are one.

 

 

 

Note:  This poem was written as part of an imitation exercise in my poetry class in 1998.  I’ve recently discovered old poems and writings that I would like to share with you.  I am not a poet by nature so this was something new for me.  I have to say, it was fun to revisit the memories of my Summer in the New Mexican High Desert-writing poems, going to Taos to see a Pow Wow in July, experiencing the Zuni Pueblo, and spending the fourth of July in Las Vegas, New Mexico- the first bilingual celebration I had ever witnessed.  I was so proud to be an American Latina that day.  I have very special memories of 1998.

Categories: Thoughts, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

